Skip to main content

与“众”不同的 AutoMQ 云原生架构

本文中提及的 AutoMQ Kafka 术语,均特指安托盟丘(杭州)科技有限公司通过 GitHub AutoMQ 组织下开源的 automq-for-kafka 项目。

随着 AutoMQ 的开源,社区近几周对 AutoMQ 的架构展开了广泛的讨论,大家特别关注 AutoMQ 的架构相对于现有的开源或商业的解决方案有何不同之处。这篇文档主要用来回答这类型问题。

与多级存储的区别

随着 Apache Kafka 3.6.0 的发布,KIP-405 多级存储存储方案终于问世,虽然该特性仍处于早期访问阶段,但社区包括 Twitter 上有不少开发者询问 AutoMQ 的架构相较于 KIP-405 核心优势在哪里。

如果我们在云上部署 Apache Kafka 或者 AutoMQ Kafka,确实两个架构有一定的相似性,都是基于 EBS 和 对象存储(S3)的部署形态,虽然在存储介质的选型上是一致的,但实际上如何用这两类存储的思想是不同的。

首先来讲 EBS:

  • Apache Kafka 的架构将 EBS 视作普通的块设备存储介质,跟本地机房的一块物理硬盘没有本质的区别,所以 Apache Kafka 会基于 EBS 做数据复制,一般要求 3 副本。
  • AutoMQ Kafka 将 EBS 视作高可靠、高可用的云存储服务,充分利用 EBS 自带 3 副本的可靠性(5 个 9 ~ 9 个 9 的可靠性)以及其在可用区内和可用区之间的故障转移能力,这使得 AutoMQ Kafka 可以避免在 EBS 之上做额外的复制,从而节省大量的存储、网络和计算资源。

再来看对象存储(S3):

  • Apache Kafka 将 S3 用于第二级存储,第一级存储构建在 EBS 之上,从设计上来看,每个 Kafka Topic 的分区,至少最后一个活跃的 Segment 需要留在第一级存储之上。这也导致多级存储方案中的第一级 EBS 存储将使用多少存储空间是不固定的,往往跟分区数量有关系。
  • AutoMQ Kafka 将 S3 作为主存,EBS 定位为高速写入缓冲区,更多的是一个低延迟的持久化缓存。因此 AutoMQ Kafka 的每个 Broker 仅需要 2GB 的 EBS 卷,其中仅 500MB 不在 S3 上的 Delta 数据(可配置)。

EBS 作为缓冲区,所以存储空间具备确定性,使得 AutoMQ Kafka 架构在 EBS 存储上开销极低,一块 2GB 的 EBS 卷每月花费仅 1 元,同时缓冲区里面仅最多有不超过 500MB 的数据是在 S3 上不存在的,可以做到秒级完成 S3 上传,进而能支持秒级的分区转移。

相反,多级存储架构中的一级存储空间不固定,需要对 EBS 进行容量评估,这往往是一件很困难的事情,所以我们仍然需要为每个 Broker 节点预置大容量的 EBS 卷。另一方面,每个分区遗留在 EBS 上的数据也不固定,所以分区移动时间也不确定,也没办法快速伸缩。以 Confluent 给出的案例来看,在一个大流量集群,扩容操作在非多级存储架构需要耗时 43 小时,在多级存储架构需要耗时 1.4 小时。可以看出,多级存储方案虽然大大缓解了 Kafka 架构上固有的问题,但无法像 AutoMQ Kafka 架构一样做到无状态。

总结一下,AutoMQ Kafka 的云原生架构相较于多级存储方案,是一个量变引起质变的过程,通过架构优化,使得 AutoMQ Kafka 做到「无状态」,任意伸缩,秒级分区转移。相反,多级存储架构是一个优化方案,仍然是有状态。

与 WarpStream 的区别

WarpStream 重新实现了 Kafka 协议,将 Kafka 直接构建在了对象存储 S3 上,Kafka 的协议主要由一个 Agent 组件来实现,因为 Agent 本地不需要挂载 EBS,可以说是完全无状态。但因为 S3 的 IO 特征,S3 会根据 API 计费,且 S3 API 调用本身有百毫秒级的延迟,所以 WarpStream 只能在同步链路上攒批写入,会有 ~400ms 的 P99 写入延迟,1s 的 P99 端到端延迟。

无状态

从无状态角度来看,WarpStream 本地 0 存储空间,可以说是彻底的无状态,自然很容易进行分区迁移和扩缩容相关的运维操作。

但 AutoMQ Kafka,本地存储空间仅需 2GB,其中仅 500MB Delta 数据,依然能做到秒级的分区迁移和节点的扩缩容,也可以说是无状态的解决方案。

成本

从成本角度来看,因为一块 2GB 的 EBS,每月仅花费 1 元,可以忽略不计。故而在成本这块 AutoMQ 和 WarpStream 基本一致,都能做到理论上的成本最优。

延迟

WarpStream 做了明确的取舍,牺牲了延迟指标,采用 WarpStream 方案的用户必须接受 400ms 的 P99 延迟。

相反,AutoMQ Kafka 的 Delta WAL 机制提供了极具竞争力的延迟,因为 WAL 简单的存储结构,我们可以通过写裸设备的方式写入 WAL,完全抛弃了文件系统的开销,将延迟优化到了极致。

可用性

在 S3 依赖方面,两个产品的可用性是对齐的,但 AutoMQ 额外依赖了 EBS,所以需要依赖 EBS 的 Detach/Attach API 以及 NVMe 相关的 API 来实现故障转移能力。

兼容性

WarpStream 选择了协议适配,目前仅适配了主要的 API,事务相关的高级 API 还未适配。实际上,适配 Kafka 协议的难度非常大,Kafka 发展这么多年,有些 API 有数十个版本,要完全适配好,难度可想而知,适配完成后也会有相当长的成熟周期。

AutoMQ Kafka 基于 Apache Kafka 的 LogSegment 切面进行开发,替换了 Apache Kafka 的存储层,改动切面足够小,所以仍旧可以持续合并跟进 Apache Kafka 的代码,保持功能和缺陷修复与 Apache Kafka 一致。

当前 AutoMQ Kafka 通过了社区全部的 E2E 测试,可以说 100% 兼容 Apache Kafka。

与 Redpanda 的区别

Redpanda 跟 AutoMQ 的架构和理念是大相径庭的,Redpanda 通过 Native 的语言重写了 Kafka,获得了 Native 语言的一些性能优势,但在复制、对象存储等方面的方案跟 Apache Kafka 没有太大的区别。

另外,Redpanda 强调单机、甚至单 Core 的极限性能,这种思想其实更加适用于本地机房,有利于将已经闲置的物理资源充分利用起来。但实际上在云端,云厂商提供的资源是比较均衡,且基本上都是按量付费,如何更加经济地使用物理资源是 AutoMQ 更看重的事情。

Skip to Main Content

Architecture

The term "AutoMQ Kafka" mentioned in this article specifically refers to the source available project automq-for-kafka under the GitHub AutoMQ organization by AutoMQ CO., LTD.

With the open source of AutoMQ, the community has had extensive discussions on the architecture of AutoMQ in recent weeks, particularly focusing on how the architecture of AutoMQ differs from existing open source or commercial solutions. This document is primarily intended to answer these types of questions.

Differences with Tiered Storage

With the release of Apache Kafka 3.6.0, the KIP-405 tiered storage solution finally came out. Although this feature is still in the early access stage, many developers on the community including Twitter have asked where the core advantages of the AutoMQ architecture over KIP-405 lie.

If we deploy Apache Kafka or AutoMQ Kafka on the cloud, indeed the two architectures have certain similarities, both are based on EBS and Object Storage (S3) deployment forms. Although the choice of storage media is consistent, the idea of how to use these two types of storage is different.

First, let's talk about EBS:

  • The architecture of Apache Kafka regards EBS as a regular block device storage medium, which has no fundamental difference from a physical hard disk in a local data center. Therefore, Apache Kafka will perform data replication based on EBS, generally requiring 3 replicas.
  • AutoMQ Kafka treats EBS as a reliable and highly available cloud storage service, fully utilizing the reliability of EBS's own 3 replicas (5 to 9 nines of reliability) and its failover capabilities within and between availability zones. This allows AutoMQ Kafka to avoid extra replication on top of EBS, thereby saving a large amount of storage, network and computing resources.

Next, let's look at Object Storage (S3):

  • Apache Kafka uses S3 for second-tier storage, with the first-tier storage built on top of EBS. From a design perspective, for each Kafka Topic partition, at least the last active Segment needs to remain on the first-tier storage. This also results in the amount of storage space used by the first-tier EBS storage in the tiered storage solution being variable, often related to the number of partitions.
  • AutoMQ Kafka uses S3 as primary storage, with EBS positioned as a high-speed write buffer, more like a low-latency persistent cache. Therefore, each Broker of AutoMQ Kafka only needs a 2GB EBS volume, of which only 500MB of Delta data not on S3 (configurable).

As EBS serves as a buffer, so the storage space is deterministic, making the EBS storage overhead of the AutoMQ Kafka architecture extremely low. A 2GB EBS volume costs only 1 yuan per month, and there is at most 500MB of data in the buffer that does not exist on S3, allowing for second-level completion of S3 uploads and support for second-level partition reassignment.

In contrast, the primary storage space in the tiered storage architecture is not fixed, requiring capacity evaluation for EBS, which is often a difficult task. Therefore, we still need to preset large-capacity EBS volumes for each Broker node. On the other hand, the amount of data each partition leaves on EBS is not fixed, so the partition reassignment time is uncertain and there is no way to scale quickly. Looking at the example given by Confluent, in a large traffic cluster, it takes 43 hours to expand the capacity in a non-tiered storage architecture, and 1.4 hours in a tiered storage architecture. It can be seen that although the tiered storage solution greatly alleviates the inherent problems of the Kafka architecture, it cannot achieve statelessness like the AutoMQ Kafka architecture.

To sum up, the cloud-native architecture of AutoMQ Kafka, compared to the tiered storage solution, is a process of quantity change leading to quality change. Through architectural optimization, AutoMQ Kafka achieves "statelessness", arbitrary scaling, and second-level partition reassignment. In contrast, the tiered storage architecture is an optimization solution, but it is still stateful.

Differences with WarpStream

WarpStream re-implements the Kafka protocol, building Kafka directly on top of object storage S3. The Kafka protocol is mainly implemented by an Agent component. Since the Agent does not need to mount EBS locally, it can be said to be completely stateless. But because of the IO characteristics of S3, S3 is billed according to API, and the S3 API call itself has a latency of hundreds of milliseconds. Therefore, WarpStream can only accumulate batches on the synchronization link, resulting in a P99 write delay of ~400ms and a P99 end-to-end delay of 1s.

Statelessness

From the perspective of statelessness, WarpStream has 0 local storage space and can be said to be completely stateless, naturally easy to carry out partition reassignment and scaling related operations.

But for AutoMQ Kafka, the local storage space only needs 2GB, of which only 500MB Delta data, can still achieve second-level partition reassignment and node expansion and contraction, can also be said to be a stateless solution.

Cost

From a cost perspective, a 2GB EBS block costs only 1 yuan per month, which can be negligible. Therefore, in terms of cost, AutoMQ and WarpStream are basically the same and can achieve the optimal cost in theory.

Latency

WarpStream has made clear trade-offs, sacrificing the latency indicator, and users who adopt the WarpStream solution must accept a P99 latency of 400ms.

On the contrary, AutoMQ Kafka's Delta WAL mechanism provides extremely competitive latency. Because of the simple storage structure of WAL, we can write WAL by writing to the raw device, completely abandoning the overhead of the file system, and optimizing the latency to the extreme.

Availability

In terms of S3 dependence, the availability of the two products is aligned, but AutoMQ also depends on EBS, so it needs to rely on EBS's Detach/Attach API and NVMe-related API to implement fault transfer capability.

Compatibility

WarpStream chose protocol adaptation, currently only adapted to the main API, advanced API related to transactions has not been adapted. In fact, adapting to the Kafka protocol is very difficult. Kafka has developed for so many years, some API have dozens of versions, it is conceivable that the difficulty of complete adaptation, there will be a fairly long maturity period after the adaptation is completed.

AutoMQ Kafka is developed based on the LogSegment aspect of Apache Kafka, replacing the storage layer of Apache Kafka. The changes are small enough that it can continue to merge and follow the code of Apache Kafka, keeping features and bug fixes consistent with Apache Kafka.

Currently, AutoMQ Kafka has passed all of the community's E2E tests, and can be said to be 100% compatible with Apache Kafka.

Difference with Redpanda

The architecture and philosophy of Redpanda and AutoMQ are quite different. Redpanda has rewritten Kafka in native language, gaining some performance advantages of native language, but its solutions in replication, object storage, etc. are not much different from Apache Kafka.

In addition, Redpanda emphasizes the extreme performance of a single machine, even a single core. This idea is more suitable for local data centers, which can make full use of idle physical resources. But in fact, in the cloud, the resources provided by cloud providers are relatively balanced, and they are basically pay-as-you-go, how to use physical resources more economically is what AutoMQ values more.